

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

With the approach of summer we are looking ahead for greater achievements for the IASNM. During the past year, the IASNM took several steps toward strengthening the organization and expanding its services and we all have to be proud of that.

Please mark your calendars! As you all know the 2005 annual meeting of the SNM is scheduled for June 18 - 22 in Toronto, Canada. This year also marks the successful completion of one year by Dr. Mathew Thakur as the president of the SNM. Please join us in congratulating Dr. Thakur and thanking him for the ever-continuing support. Dr. Chaitanya Divgi will complete 2 years of his Presidency. This year, Dr. Rajendran will take over as President with Dr. Divgi continuing in an active role for another year.

As before, IASNM will have the annual dinner and awards ceremony between 6:30 PM – 10:00 PM on Sunday, June 19, 2005. It will be held at "Bombay Palace" restaurant, located at 71 Jarvis Street, Toronto ON M5C 2H2. Phone: (416) 368 – 8048, in close proximity to the Toronto convention center. Please check their web site <a href="http://www.toronto.com/infosite/146446/virtualtour.shtml">http://www.toronto.com/infosite/146446/virtualtour.shtml</a> for general details about the restaurant. Further details will be provided on our web site <a href="http://www.iasnm.org">http://www.iasnm.org</a>. We all can have a fun filled and memorable time in Toronto catching up on friendship and current events. Please come, meet friends and colleagues, celebrate the progress made by the IASNM and listen to young scientists from India and the USA present their research. We thank our fellow members Neil Vasdev and Raman Chirakal for arranging the venue for our dinner function.

Thanks to the efficient and dedicated work of Drs., Sushama Bhargava, Pradeep Garg, Neeta Pandit-Taskar and Suresh Srivastava, the best abstract for clinical sciences from those who applied in response to our call for applications, was selected for this year's award – unfortunately the response to our request was sub-optimal and there were no applicants for the basic science category. Details can be found on our web site http://www.iasnm.org. Congratulations to the winner of the travel award, Dr. Shefali Gokhale from Apollo Hospital, Chennai. We would appreciate feedback on how we may encourage young (less than 40 years of age at the time of the meeting) Nuclear Medicine professionals from India to apply for the award.

The web site for our society continues to grow. It can be found at the URL (<u>http://www.iasnm.org</u>). Please visit the site and provide your valuable suggestions to improve the contents. It is our web site and your comments for further refinement are very welcome. Full membership information can be found at the web site. Please

## www.IASNM.org



encourage your friends and colleagues to join and strengthen our organization. Those of you, who have not yet become life membership, please consider becoming one and take advantage of all the benefits associated with that. For one it takes away the need for annual renewal! An appeal letter from the President can be found at the web site.

Please check this web site at a later date for further details. If you need further information please contact Dr. Rajendran at rajan@u.washington.edu.

Chaitanya Divgi MD President divgic@mskcc.org Joseph Rajendran MD Secretary rajan@u.washington.edu